Music at meets

A forum to discuss anything that has to do with pole vaulting that does not fit in the other forums.

Moderators: Russ, lonpvh

GeorgeN
PV Nerd

Music at meets

Unread postby GeorgeN » Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:20 pm

I see music at international meets in the high jump and pole vault. Does anyone know if boom boxes are allowed at meets? Can a vaulter play a cd while he/she is vaulting?
Thanks,
George

ladyvolspvcoach
PV Follower

music

Unread postby ladyvolspvcoach » Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:33 pm

During the D1 meets NO electronic devices are allowed on the field.....

GeorgeN
PV Nerd

music

Unread postby GeorgeN » Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:51 pm

Thank you. Is a D1 meet a high school meet? And does this change for open meets?
I am a hs coach, but I plan to compete in masters pv meets starting in January.

George

GeorgeN
PV Nerd

great Bubka loop

Unread postby GeorgeN » Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:52 pm

http://www.stabhoch.com/movies/19920713_Bubka_611.mov

just copy and paste and watch the master

ladyvolspvcoach
PV Follower

music

Unread postby ladyvolspvcoach » Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:33 pm

No, D1 means Division 1 NCAA collegiate vaulting. High Schools as far as my experience goes does not have such a rule..

achtungpv
PV Rock Star

Re: music

Unread postby achtungpv » Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:22 pm

ladyvolspvcoach wrote:No, D1 means Division 1 NCAA collegiate vaulting. High Schools as far as my experience goes does not have such a rule..

You will get busted in TX at meets that matter (district, regional, state) for electronic devices, so it probably is a HS rule nationwide.
"You have some interesting coaching theories that seem to have little potential."

Maverick986
PV Fan

Unread postby Maverick986 » Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:56 am

GeorgeN wrote:Thank you. Is a D1 meet a high school meet? And does this change for open meets?
I am a hs coach, but I plan to compete in masters pv meets starting in January.

George