Muscle Memory or Concentration?

A forum to discuss overall training techniques, nutrition, injuries, etc. Discussion of actual pole vault technique should go in the Technique forum.
lostbvrunner
PV Wannabe

Muscle Memory or Concentration?

Unread postby lostbvrunner » Thu May 19, 2005 9:40 pm

Okay, here's the deal. Last week was league, and I got my PR by 1'3" and 5th place... it was cool lol.
But anyhow. That entire meet I made a big deal about not thinking about anything and just letting muscle memory take over. The thing is, when I do that, I do not get inverted all the way, because this is my first year vaulting and my muscle memory doesn't remember to row, lol.
So on my attempts at 7'9" (I'm a girl) I knew I had to row in order to clear, so I started thinking about that. The attempts weren't very good, I don't think they would've cleared the 7'3" i had just gotten. I'm not sure if that was because I was psyching myself out when I was concentrating on rowing, or just because I was tired.

So here's my question... if you were me, what would you do tomorrow? Try to let muscle memory take over again, or really concentrate on rowing and planting well.

I was hoping to work enough on rowing this week in practice that I could allow muscle memory to take over and still row a lot... but I have not vaulted well in practice this week at all. I haven't had a good plant or gotten good penetration.

Also, I think that I vaulted so well last week because I cleared everything on my first attempt... so I was really confident the entire time. What do you guys do after a failed attempt to stay confident?

Sorry for all the questions I am just nervous for regionals, I really wanna PR again.

science geek
PV Whiz
Expertise: HS Coach, occasional beginning vaulter
Lifetime Best: 9' 6
Favorite Vaulter: Crash

Unread postby science geek » Thu May 19, 2005 10:26 pm