gymnastics or xc?

A forum to discuss overall training techniques, nutrition, injuries, etc. Discussion of actual pole vault technique should go in the Technique forum.
pverrr
PV Beginner

gymnastics or xc?

Unread postby pverrr » Thu May 10, 2007 8:17 pm

hey every one. an idea popped into my head yesterday... i was thinking about which sport i should do in the fall that would be the most beneficial for helping me vault... gymnastics of cross country. i've never ran xc in my life and i previously did gymnastics last fall (im a sophomore). since im not really great at gymnastics, i was concidering leaving to try xc, but i know that gymnastics is great for the vault, but cross country would help my running out, too. any oppinions would be great. i need to make my mind up soon!

polevaulter08nw
PV Master
Expertise: College Vaulter, Coach
Lifetime Best: 5.40
Favorite Vaulter: Renaud Lavillinie

Unread postby polevaulter08nw » Thu May 10, 2007 8:21 pm

gymnastics, xc isn't great for your speed!
PR: 5.40
Indiana University '13
University of North Carolina '12

Siros
PV Nerd

Unread postby Siros » Thu May 10, 2007 10:13 pm

Yeah, xc wouldn't really do much. Gymnastics works wonders though. I've heard it from lots of people.

polevaulter08nw
PV Master
Expertise: College Vaulter, Coach
Lifetime Best: 5.40
Favorite Vaulter: Renaud Lavillinie

Unread postby polevaulter08nw » Thu May 10, 2007 10:32 pm

i love gymnastics, its alot harder than i seems, and works alot of muscle groups similar to polevault and can help either way.
PR: 5.40
Indiana University '13
University of North Carolina '12

Siros
PV Nerd

Unread postby Siros » Thu May 10, 2007 10:39 pm

I'd completely love to get into gymnastics. Unfortunately, money is a big problem.

rainbowgirl28
I'm in Charge
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, I coach and officiate as life allows
Lifetime Best: 11'6"
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Casey Carrigan